Future Lawyers Top 100 2017 The Award Winners

Our Future Lawyers Top 100 event connected 100 bright students with representatives from 12 of the most prestigious commercial law firms. The calibre of attendees was incredible, with these students picking up awards for their achievements. Read on to find out more.

Clifford Chance Outstanding Achievement Award

Winner: Liz Barrett

Liz has demonstrated undeniable resilience to achieve success during an incredibly difficult time in her personal life. In four years, despite a number of challenges, she has gained an Access to Higher Education Diploma in Law (achieving Distinctions in all modules), secured a full-time job at a FTSE 100 company, been selected for multiple first year insight days and been awarded an academic scholarship to King's College London.

Clyde & Co Dedication Award

Winner: Zoe Ram

Despite experiencing much personal and academic difficulty whilst growing up, Zoe managed to achieve outstanding grades in both her GCSEs and her A-Levels. She was consequently awarded a full scholarship to study Law at the LSE.

Dentons Skills Award

Winner: Ruben De Bruin

During the summer, Ruben taught himself Dutch Law. He attended a course of Private Law at the Open University of Amsterdam, demonstrating incredible initiative and dedication to developing his skills.

Herbert Smith Freehills Embracing Culture Award

Winner: Naoise Webster

Naoise has gone above and beyond to embrace and interact with a number of other cultures, as demonstrated by her work in Uganda, France and Northern Ireland. She is involved with Newcastle University's 'NEST', which aims to facilitate the integration of refugees into their new communities by teaching them English and her dedication to this project is truly commendable.

Macfarlanes Commercial Awareness Award

Winner: Andrew Drylie

During his last two years at school, Andrew managed a sports recovery business. Constantly thinking about how the presentation of the business would affect profits and clients led him to develop exceptional commercial awareness and also taught him how to grow a business in the current climate.

Mishcon De Reya Community Champion Award

Winner: Elizabeth Stork

Elizabeth has shown hard-work, passion and dedication in helping within the community. From the age of 14, she has been involved in various community volunteer projects including the International Citizen Service. After fundraising over £800, Elizabeth spent over three months in one of the most deprived districts in Nepal to promote education and sanitation.

RPC Innovation Award

Winner: Emily Batchelor

At Exeter University, Emily created the Student Farm Cooperative as a business strategy to deal with the effects of Brexit. They are now working with the NFU and Exeter Student's Guild to make a positive impact in a post-Brexit climate.

Shearman & Sterling Teamwork Award

Winner: Arian Thomas

Arian is currently working part-time in a small law firm working on a case challenging a mortgage repossession. This involved daily communication with the Officer Manager to ensure the clients are informed and confident. She is also part of a team of e-mentors on the Sutton Trust's Pathways to Law programme in which she collaborated with two other mentors to pass on the best advice to students.

Slaughter and May Excellence and Resilience Award

Winner: Tife Adegun

Tife suffered incredible physical challenges growing up, despite her early ambition to be an Olympic gymnast. However, as her body slowly recovered she demonstrated phenomenal resilience, recovered her confidence and is now a national cheerleader and has been chosen to be a coach for the squad next year.

Travers Smith Impact Award

Winner: Kurt Glencastle

Within the first month of joining the University of Leicester, Kurt won the Speed Mooting Competition and successfully progressed to the semi-finals of the Junior Mooting competition. He has also been promoted to Director of the Legal Advice Clinic at one of the only Pro Bono Legal Advice Clinic's to still be entirely run by students. Kurt has already had an incredible impact, increasing the number of volunteers by 15%.

Watson Farley & Williams Leadership Award

Winner: Rachel Taylor

Rachel has embraced opportunities presented to her to take on responsibility and leadership form an early stage.  Through her work with the National Citizen Service as a Senior Mentor, she has gone on to share her knowledge and experience with others to help them develop their own skills. 

Weil Gotshal & Manges (London) LLP Stewardship Award

Winner: Kenny Glass

As the President of the University of Bristol Law Club, Kenny has demonstrated his commitment to increasing the diversity of the society. Immediately after his election as President, he began working with the Diversity and Inclusivity Officer and opened blind applications for the role of International Student Officer which was very well received. He has also made great efforts to improve accessibility, for example, lowering membership fees to ensure all students are able to join the society.

Well done to everyone who won awards.